CF of the Lowcountry | Five New Directors Join Community Foundation…

Community Foundation News

Five New Directors Join Community Foundation of the Lowcountry Board of Directors

July 20, 2018

Community Foundation of the Lowcountry has announced the addition of five new members to its board of directors: Geoff Block, the Rev. Dr. Douglas Fletcher, Jeanette Taylor Jones, John Levy and Dr. Al Panu.

Geoff Block has over 20 years of public and private company investment experience. In 2013, Mr. Block and his wife, Kim, formed RLB Squared. Through this family entity and various other family holdings, Mr. Block oversees a portfolio of investments that include hedge funds, real estate and operating businesses. Prior to that, Block had worked for Crown Advisors and was a founding member and co-portfolio manager of Crown Growth Partners, LP and Crown Growth Partners II. Block earned a Bachelor of Science degree in management from Tulane University.

Rev. Dr. Douglas Fletcher serves as pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Hilton Head, where he ’s been since 2008. Prior to that, he served as pastor of Westlake Hills Presbyterian Church in Austin, Tex. for 15 years. He has also served churches in Colorado Springs and Tulsa.

Fletcher earned his undergraduate degree from Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, and his Master ’s and Ph.D. in Bible Studies from Princeton Theological Seminary.

Jeanette Taylor Jones relocated to the Lowcountry from Minnesota after a successful career in both law and healthcare administration. Most recently Jones served as Vice President of Professional & Support Services for Hennepin County Medical Center. Prior to that she was Assistant Commissioner for the State of Minnesota Department of Human Services, CEO of Minnesota Age and Opportunity and Director of Operations at United Healthcare Corporation, in addition to other positions she held in healthcare administration.

Jones has a law degree and has been a trial attorney, a professional liability claims attorney and also completed an internship at the New York Supreme Court.

In addition, Jones was an adjunct professor at William Mitchell College of Law in Saint Paul, Minn. and an instructor at Hofstra University in Long Island, NY.

She earned an R.N. degree from Broome College in New York, a B.A. in business administration from Metropolitan State University in Saint Paul, Minn., and a juris doctorate from Pace University School of Law in White Plains, NY.

Professional memberships include New York State Trial Lawyer Association; American Bar Association, Links International and New York State Bar Association. Jones has also been involved with a number of civic and community organizations, including serving on the boards of the United Way, American Red Cross, Minnesota Council of Black Minnesotans, Hennepin County American Cancer Society, Women Venture, Minnesota Gerontological Society, Metropolitan Area Agency on Aging and Center for Cross Cultural Health. She was selected as a McKnight Fellow and is a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority.

John Levy is First Vice President-Investments at Wells Fargo Advisors in Hilton Head. He joined A.G. Edwards (a predecessor company of Wells Fargo Advisors) as a financial advisor in May 1996. He received a bachelor ’s degree from Southern Illinois University, followed by nine years at Dun and Bradstreet Inc. in Syracuse, NY.

Al Panu, Ph.D. is the chancellor of the University of South Carolina Beaufort, only the second chancellor since it achieved baccalaureate status in 2004. He has held that position since 2014.

Dr. Panu earned a bachelor ’s degree in chemistry at Tuskegee Institute, a master ’s degree in chemistry from University of Alabama and a doctorate degree in chemistry from the University of Georgia.

From 1978 to 2010 Dr. Panu held various university-level teaching positions, earning the Distinguished Teaching Award at Kennesaw State University College of Science and Mathematics in 1998. In 2010 he became Dean of the School of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics at Gainesville State College in Georgia (later to become part of University of North Georgia.) The following year he was named Vice President for Academic Affairs and professor of chemistry at Gainesville State College. In 2013 he was appointed Senior Vice President for University Affairs at the University of North Georgia.

In addition to adding new board members, Community Foundation of the Lowcountry has named its board of director officers for its 2019 fiscal year: Jim Allhusen - Chair; Jeri Farren – First Vice Chair; Allen Ward – Second Vice Chair; David Wetmore - Treasurer; and Denise Spencer - President and Secretary (non-voting staff liaison).

‹ Back to all posts

Stay informed. Sign up for the latest updates from our foundation.

More Community Foundation News Posts